A recent history

In June of 2015 Barb Teghtmeyer spoke to a group from the Bragg Creek Historical Society. She spoke about the Trading Post which her father, Jack Elsdon, opened in 1940. He was a very resourceful man who, along with his wife Mary, operated many businesses including, trucking, excavating, rural postal delivery, a dance hall, vacation cabins and all the activities that made the store a critical part of the community at a time when only a few hardy souls lived in Bragg Creek, there were no phones, no electricity and the roads were often impassable. Barb has lived her entire life in Bragg Creek where she attended school and helped run the family businesses. She talks about the sense of responsibility she has to preserve the history of Bragg Creek and her desire to share her experience with others.

Please watch this 25 minute video.

History of the Trading Post

Bragg Creek Trading Post

The Trading Post in 2017. It has never looked better. Inset shows the damage done in 2013.

The Trading Post was built in 1927 by a crew of Tom Fullerton’s, with logs from the property. They built if for Guy and Tene Coates. To this day it sits on the exact same footprint. In 1932, Jack Elsdon established his business further down White Avenue and in 1940 moved his Bragg Creek Trading Post to this location. He and his wife Mary operated it until their deaths, at which time their daughter Barbara and Robb Teghtmeyer took over. The store suffered extensive damage during the flood of 2013 and has since been repaired – again using logs from the property. In this 90-year-old building, Barb and Robb are celebrating an 85-year-old family business.